Skip to main content

About | Standards

Image of white light house at dusk


Standards Oversight



Imagine Canada’s volunteer Board is legally responsible for the Standards Program. The board approves Program policies and procedures; approves participation fees; approves Program budget; establishes the Standards Council and its terms of reference.

Imagine Canada’s Board is elected by the membership of Imagine Canada (which consists of charities and public-benefit nonprofits).


The volunteer Standards Council is responsible for overseeing the Standards Program. This includes recommending Program policies and procedures to the Imagine Canada Board; approving revisions to the Standards; appointing members to peer review panels; reviewing and rendering decisions on complaints about the Program and its participants; and, provide guidance on current and emerging issues relating to the Program.

The current members of the Standards Council are:


Roger Ali    
Niagara Health Foundation (former)

John Bailey
Regina Food Bank

Michelle Campbell
St. Joseph’s Health Care Foundation

Stephanie Chung
Pennylegion Chung LLP

Karen Cooper
Drache Aptowitzer LLP

Charlie Fluit
World Vision Canada (former)

Renée Hébert
Community Housing Transformation Centre
New Brunswick

Maria Howard
Family Services of Greater Vancouver
British Columbia

Refat Jiwani, Past Chair
Aga Khan Museum (former)

Jean-Marc Mangin
Philanthropic Foundations Canada

Michelle McCann
Health Association Nova Scotia
Nova Scotia

Cristina Toporas
Ovarian Cancer Canada

Shelagh Turner, Chair
Canadian Mental Health Association Kelowna
British Columbia


Our volunteer peer reviewers are central to the work we collectively undertake to assess accreditation and support strengthened organizational practices. Over 65 volunteer peer reviewers from across the country take part in the application review process.

Ann Barnard Ball
Jacques Bérubé
Christian Bolduc
Susan Bower
Carmen Boyko
Guy Bradbury
Trish Bronsch
Andrea Clarke
Amy Coupal
Diana Deakin-Thomas
Christopher Dougherty
Iris Fabbro
Michael Farris
Marcy Fogal
Tracy Ford
Scott Forfar
Sandi Hancox
Sue Hardy
Jeanette Heywood
Catherine Jagdeo
Samantha Jones
Margaret Jones-Bricker
Shauneen Kellner
Sandi Kiverago
Alain Laurendeau

Danielle Leguard-White
Sylvia Leonard
Kathy Lilyholm
Lisa Litz
Tracey Mann
Darius Maze
Noreen Mian
Shawn Mitchell
Lyndsay Montina
Mariana Nimara
Isabelle Patenaude
Ricci Postan
Debra Radi
Jody Rathgeber
Lucie Rémillard
Debbie Sevenpifer
Heather Simpson
Dave Spedding
Alison Staples
Sheila Tilotta
Anne Tinker
Patricia Valleau
Barbara van Vierssen Trip
Beth Weintrop
Shirley (Paulsen) Wilson


Organizations that have been accredited through the Imagine Canada Standards Program are required to comply with all Standards in order to maintain their accreditation. If you feel that an accredited organization is not operating in compliance with the Standards, you can register a complaint. Read the Complaints Policy for more information on how to submit a complaint and what happens once a complaint has been registered.