Skip to main content

28 Charities Committed to Organizational Excellence Receive Imagine Canada Accreditation

28 Charities Committed to Organizational Excellence Receive Imagine Canada Accreditation

Press release

Standards Program Trustmark

Trustmark Helps Draw Donations as Giving Season Begins

Toronto, December 5, 2019 — Imagine Canada, the umbrella for Canada’s charitable sector, is pleased to welcome the latest cohort of charities and nonprofits, including eight new participants,  into its national Standards Program - an accreditation process which helps charities and nonprofits build public trust and bolster donor confidence. 

National charities Heart & Stroke and Breakfast Club of Canada, together with BC Children's Hospital Foundation, All Nations International Development Agency, Closer to Home Community Services, Grandview Children's Foundation, Terra Centre for Teen Parents, and Woodstock Hospital Foundation are the newest organizations to join a growing community of Canadian charities and nonprofits accredited by Imagine Canada’s Standards Program - a designation granted following a comprehensive application and peer review process.

 “The Standards Program Trustmark is a tangible way to show our donors, the Canadians we serve, and the members of the public alike that transparency, governance, and accountability is at the heart of everything we do. But the impact of the accreditation goes beyond that,” says Yves Savoie, Chief Executive Officer, Heart & Stroke. “The standards are the best and most comprehensive measure available for organizational excellence in the charitable sector. The process of preparing an application provides an invaluable opportunity to improve, refine, and even adopt practices which enhance organizational capabilities.

In addition to the newly accredited charities, 20 organizations are maintaining their good standing after successfully completing a mandatory re-accreditation process, bringing the total number of organizations currently accredited across Canada to 249. 

The accreditation, which is designed to build Canadians’ trust and confidence in the sector, is awarded upon successful completion of a rigorous, in-depth application process. We are honoured to count these well-deserving recipients in Imagine Canada’s Standards Program community, and proud to join them in celebrating their remarkable achievement.” Bruce MacDonald, President and CEO of Imagine Canada.

Canadian charities from coast to coast to coast, big and small, and devoted to a diverse range of worthy causes have invested in trust and excellence by joining the Standards Program. In doing so, these organizations have increased their organizational transparency all the while contributing to achieving a common goal: strengthening the operating culture of Canadian charities and nonprofit organizations.  

On behalf of all the hard-working staff and volunteers at Breakfast Club of Canada, we are so proud to have earned the Imagine Canada accreditation. It validates how seriously we have taken our mission over the past 25 years to contribute to nourishing students in collaboration with our partners and the funds donors give us for those efforts,” says Renee Merrifield, Chair of the Board of Directors at Breakfast Club of Canada and Kelowna-based entrepreneur.

Created “by the sector for the sector” in 2012, the Standards Program is the only national, bilingual, standards and accreditation program that is designed for all Canadian registered charities. To earn the accreditation trustmark, charities and nonprofits must demonstrate excellence in five fundamental areas: board governance; financial accountability and transparency; fundraising; staff management; and volunteer involvement. Accreditation is a sought-after hallmark of excellence within the sector for funders, donors, sponsors and supporters alike. 

We congratulate these organizations on their accreditation, and extend our thanks to the dedicated volunteer peer reviewers for their outstanding contribution to this important work. 

Newly Accredited Organizations 

All Nations International Development Agency
BC Children's Hospital Foundation
Breakfast Club of Canada
Closer to Home Community Services
Grandview Children's Foundation
Heart & Stroke
Terra Centre for Teen Parents
Woodstock Hospital Foundation

Reaccredited Organizations 

Alberta Children's Hospital Foundation
Alexandra Marine & General Hospital Foundation
Bay Area Restoration Council
Canadian Hard of Hearing Association - Newfoundland and Labrador
Crohn's and Colitis Canada
Good Neighbours Active Living Centre
iSisters Technology Mentoring
Junior Achievement of Central Ontario
Northern Lights Health Foundation
Ovarian Cancer Canada
Regina Transition House
Royal University Hospital Foundation
Save a Child's Heart Canada
Save the Children Canada
SOWINS (South Okanagan Women in Need Society)
United Way Elgin Middlesex
United Way of Fort McMurray
Vantage Point
YMCA of Simcoe/Muskoka
Youth Science Canada

Visit ImagineCanada.ca to view to complete list of accredited organizations.

Strong Charities, Strong Community 

Organizations participating in the Standards program have access to a spectrum of resources at all stages of the process, such as self-assessment tools, volunteer peer advisors from accredited organizations, and online resources to strengthen practices. The peer reviewers’ assessment of policies and practices as well as constructive feedback contribute to elevate accountability, transparency and good governance practices in Canadian charities and nonprofits. 

Term of Accreditation and Compliance 

Accredited organizations are required to complete full reaccreditation on a five-year basis. Compliance during the accreditation period is monitored through an annual reporting process that requires organizations to submit evidence demonstrating selected standards are being met. Compliance is also monitored through investigation of complaints.

The Standards Program is made possible with the financial contributions from founding and presenting sponsor Canada Life; and generously supported by the Lawson Foundation.
 

Sponsor logos: Canada Life and Lawson Foundation

ABOUT IMAGINE CANADA 

Imagine Canada is a national charitable organization whose cause is Canada’s charities. Our three broad goals are to strengthen the sector’s collective voice, create opportunities to connect and learn from each other, and build the sector’s capacity to succeed.

imaginecanada.ca | Twitter: @ImagineCanada | Facebook: facebook.com/ImagineCanada

For additional information please contact:
Émilie Pontbriand
Manager, Corporate Communications
epontbriand@imaginecanada.ca 
 

 

NATIONAL PARTNERS

Aller au contenu principal

28 organismes dédiés à l’excellence organisationnelle obtiennent l’agrément d’Imagine Canada

28 organismes dédiés à l’excellence organisationnelle obtiennent l’agrément d’Imagine Canada

Communiqué de presse

Standards Trustmark

Le sceau de confiance : une corde précieuse à l’arc des OSBL en ce début de la saison des dons

Toronto, 5 décembre 2019 — Imagine Canada, l’organisme-cadre du secteur caritatif du Canada, a le plaisir d’accueillir la plus récente cohorte d’organismes de bienfaisance et sans but lucratif, dont huit nouveaux participants, au sein de son Programme de normes, une initiative nationale. Ces organismes ont obtenu l’agrément au terme d’un processus qui contribue au renforcement du lien de confiance avec le public et les donateurs individuels.

Cœur + AVC et le Club des petits déjeuners, deux organisations nationales, ainsi que BC Children’s Hospital Foundation, All Nations International Development Agency, Closer to Home Community Services, Grandview Children’s Foundation, Terra Centre for Teen Parents et Woodstock Hospital Foundation se joignent à la communauté grandissante d’organismes de bienfaisance et sans but lucratif qui ont obtenu l’agrément du Programme de normes d’Imagine Canada, une désignation accordée au terme d’un processus exhaustif et d’un examen approfondi mené par des pairs-examinateurs provenant du secteur caritatif.

« Le sceau de confiance du Programme de normes est une façon tangible de montrer à nos donateurs, aux Canadiens qui font appel à nos services et aux membres du public que la transparence, la gouvernance et la responsabilité se trouvent au cœur de tout ce que nous faisons. Mais l’impact de l’agrément va bien plus loin », explique Yves Savoie, président-directeur général de Cœur + AVC. « Les normes offrent le meilleur et le plus complet outil pour évaluer l’excellence organisationnelle dans le secteur caritatif. Le processus de préparation de la demande d’agrément est une occasion en or pour améliorer, peaufiner, voire adopter des pratiques exemplaires qui permettent de renforcer les capacités d’une organisation. »

En plus des huit organismes nouvellement agréés, 20 organismes ont maintenu leur conformité à l’ensemble des normes vérifiée et confirmée au cours d’un processus de renouvellement de l’agrément obligatoire tous les cinq ans. Le nombre total d’organismes agréés dans toutes les régions du Canada s’établit désormais à 249.

« L’obtention de l’agrément atteste de l’engagement d’un organisme à maintenir les plus hauts standards en matière d’intégrité et de transparence pour ses pratiques organisationnelles. L’agrément, conçu pour renforcer la confiance des Canadiens envers le secteur caritatif, est accordé au terme d’un processus rigoureux et approfondi. Tout le mérite revient à ces organismes que nous sommes honorés de compter parmi les membres de notre Programme de normes, et nous sommes fiers de célébrer avec eux cette réussite remarquable, » affirme Bruce MacDonald, président-directeur général, Imagine Canada.

Les organismes de bienfaisance et sans but lucratif qui se sont joints au Programme de normes, quelles que soient leur région, leur taille, ou leur cause, ont investi dans la confiance et dans l’excellence. Ainsi, ils ont accru leur transparence et renforcé la confiance du public, tout en contribuant à atteindre un objectif commun, soit celui de solidifier la culture opérationnelle des organismes de bienfaisance et sans but lucratif canadiens.

Selon Renee Merrifield, présidente du conseil d’administration du Club et entrepreneure de Kelowna (Colombie-Britannique), « l’accréditation d’Imagine Canada vient confirmer à quel point le Club des petits déjeuners prend au sérieux sa mission de contribuer à nourrir des élèves en collaboration avec ses partenaires et grâce aux généreuses contributions de ses donatrices et donateurs. C’est avec une immense fierté que nous acceptons cette reconnaissance au nom de notre personnel et de nos bénévoles dévoués. »

Afin d’obtenir le sceau de confiance du Programme de normes, les organismes doivent démontrer leur excellence dans cinq domaines fondamentaux : la gouvernance du conseil d’administration, la responsabilité financière et la transparence, la collecte de fonds, la gestion du personnel et la participation des bénévoles.

Créé « pour le secteur par le secteur », le Programme de normes est le seul programme de certification national bilingue ouvert à l’ensemble des organismes de bienfaisance et sans but lucratif canadiens. Depuis la création du Programme en 2012, l’agrément représente une marque d’excellence au sein du secteur, recherchée tant par les bailleurs de fonds et commanditaires que par les donateurs et autres alliés. 

Nous félicitons les organismes d’avoir obtenu l’agrément et remercions tous nos pairs-examinateurs bénévoles dévoués de leur contribution à cet important travail.

Organismes nouvellement agréés

All Nations International Development Agency
BC Children's Hospital Foundation
Closer to Home Community Services
Club des petits déjeuners
Cœur + AVC 
Grandview Children’s Foundation
Terra Centre for Teen Parents
Woodstock Hospital Foundation

Organismes dont l’agrément a été renouvelé

Aide à l’enfance Canada
Alberta Children's Hospital Foundation
Alexandra Marine & General Hospital Foundation
Bay Area Restoration Council
Canadian Hard of Hearing Association - Newfoundland and Labrador
Cancer de l’ovaire Canada
Crohn et Colite Canada
Good Neighbours Active Living Centre
iSisters Technology Mentoring
Junior Achievement of Central Ontario
Northern Lights Health Foundation
Regina Transition House
Royal University Hospital Foundation
Save a Child's Heart Canada
Sciences Jeunesse Canada
SOWINS (South Okanagan Women in Need Society)
United Way Elgin Middlesex
United Way of Fort McMurray
Vantage Point
YMCA of Simcoe/Muskoka

Visitez ImagineCanada.ca pour consulter la liste complète des organismes agréés.

Pour la cause, pour la communauté

Les organismes participant au Programme de normes ont accès à une gamme de ressources tout au long du processus d’agrément, p. ex. des outils d’autoévaluation, des mentors bénévoles provenant d’organismes agréés et des outils en ligne pour bonifier leurs pratiques. L’examen des politiques et des pratiques des organismes par des pairs-examinateurs et la rétroaction constructive contribuent à renforcer la responsabilité, la transparence et les pratiques de gouvernance des organismes de bienfaisance et sans but lucratif canadiens.

Conditions d’agrément et de conformité

Les organismes agréés doivent se soumettre à un processus de renouvellement de l’agrément tous les cinq ans. Pendant la période d’agrément, la conformité est surveillée à l’aide d’un processus annuel exigeant que les organismes démontrent leur conformité à certaines normes. La surveillance est également assurée par des enquêtes sur les plaintes reçues.

La réalisation du Programme de normes est possible grâce au soutien financier du commanditaire fondateur et principal Canada Vie et au financement accordé par la Lawson Foundation.

À propos d’Imagine Canada

Imagine Canada est un organisme caritatif national dont la mission est de faire la promotion des organismes caritatifs du Canada. Nos grands objectifs sont de renforcer la voix collective du secteur, de créer des possibilités d’établissements de liens et d’apprentissage mutuel et de renforcer la capacité du secteur de réussir.

 

Sponsor logos: Canada Life and Lawson Foundation

 
Imaginecanada.ca | Twitter : @ImagineCanada | Facebook : facebook.com/ImagineCanada
 
Renseignements :
Émilie Pontbriand
Gestionnaire, communications corporatives
epontbriand@imaginecanada.ca

PARTENAIRES NATIONAUX